14.1.09

Finally.

     I found my old journal.... The first entry really intrigued me.

"April 20th, '08

     I was just thinking about how little I really know about myself. In fact, I'm pretty clueless. Am I kind? Why do I feel like I must make myself smile at strangers? Do I work hard for what I want, and what do I want? I know I like to sing, but I only feel happy doing it when I'm good at it. I know I like fashion, anything creative really; except when I'm lazy. So where does that leave me? I'm only happy when I find something creative and easy to achieve? That sounds terrible to me. I don't want to be that girl. God I'm even worried about working in a coffee shop because it might be hard to keep up with its fast pace! Isn't that a bit pathetic? How did I become this person, someone so emotionally unstable? I must have some good traits... but I can't seem to name them. I find it very hard to develop and grow into the person I want and see myself being whilst in high school. While being locked in this shit box for 6 hours, 5 days a week, the traits I want to portray seem impossible to attain. I know who I want to be. I want to have confidence in myself; I want to know what I am truly passionate about and pursue it; I want to turn heads because I am confident, I don't want to blend in. But the thing is, I want to have something to be confident about. I want to be fit and comfortable with my body; I want so badly to do well in Kiwanis Festival next week; I want to stop being so sensitive. Sometimes I guess you have to just sit, and wait it out. So we will see what happens, hopefully I will be able to answer some of my questions soon."

     Finally now, it seems as though I can answer some of those questions. By spending more time than I have previously on my own in the past year (a.k.a by being single), I've actually gained some knowledge about myself. I realized that I needed to be single in order to learn these things; because the problem with having someone along for the ride is that when you lose them, you lose some of that knowledge you gained with them as well. Took me a long time to figure out such a simple concept. 
     I try not feel proud of myself often; In my opinion, it turns people arrogant. But I've gotta say, right now I'm proud of myself. Despite my lack of confidence in the physical department, I feel that I've overcome many of those things I criticized myself for. I am no longer the lazy ass that sat on her bed and said, "I should probably learn my theory now," and never did. It finally feels like I've got somewhat of a hold on my life; that all that determination I strived for has finally surfaced. I started to really work for what I wanted, and was internally rewarded. This is the first year I've made Honors with Distinction, received three golds in Kiwanis Festival, and was 1 of 6 accepted to a camp in New York. But so much hard work was put in in order for me to just say those words. Again, I don't want to be arrogant- But you know, there is a point where you've got to pat yourself on the back and say, "breathe now, you did well"; but then of course- get back to work. 

It's about time I got my life in order; only took me 17 years.

13.1.09

Oh. Hawt. Dayum.

     Apparently I've been MIA hey? It's been a month since I put up a blog, thats pathetic. I guess all the stresses from school have been taking up most of my time. I'm currently studying three Shakespeare plays, and in my free time I've been watching the operas I got for Christmas (Carmen from Covent Garden, Figaro from La Scala, Eugene Onegin from the Met, and some others which I am too lazy to type). Of course, my free time excludes all the practicing I've been doing for my auditions, working on my theory, of course school work, and scene work for drama (I'm playing Cassius in the Cassius/Brutus scene in Julius Caesar, Act 4 Scene 3).  Anyhoo, on to the good stuff, otherwise known as my new obsession: Ildebrando D'Arcangelo. Smoking man babe is what he is.

                                    
Oh baby baby. That's one fine piece of bass/baritone ass if you ask me.